top of page

#MHSTechs In the Classroom


Using Twitter in the classroom can be one of the most engaging class sessions a teacher and the students will experience. Getting the the confidence to go there with students is all you need.

My experience with Twitter in the classroom was last year in my CTE Computer Technology Class. The students, all Senior males, really weren’t interested in Tweeting with their teacher (me). One student was not allowed to use Twitter as he would violate his anti-gang agreement with the Principal. Yep, pretty interesting social experience students share with you sometimes. He just worked alongside his fellow student for this project.

The lesson plan was for them to experience communicating with Twitter professionally. We worked with a simple chat format, me asking questions and them posting electronics and favorite gaming sites, etc. We used the #MHSTechs. I’ve included a small section screen shot.

They had a blast. It was such a thrill to watch them actually understand the power of Twitter. They thanked me and said it was the most fun they ever had in a class. Imagine that!! We continued to use the #MHSTechs for the rest of the semester as a resource for sharing cool tech gadgets and relevant technology news. A few of them even Tweeted politics a few times. I loved it.

For my current position, I have created a @MUSDSecondary account and have been trying to get teachers using it as a place to share out. I did not have much success this year but after reading Chapter 4 of Personal Learning Networks (Richardson & Mancabelli, 2011) I have a better roll out plan.

I have also offered to work with a few teachers to use Twitter as a test review or lesson discussion/review and they were still not comfortable with it. I hope that next year I can convince at least the Civics/Econ teachers.

So I encourage you to give it a try. Make sure you have a little experience with Twitter protocal so you are teaching proper etiquiette and it will be one of the most exciting 21st Century Skills you ever taught.

Richardson, W., & Mancabelli, R. (2011). Personal Learning Networks. Using the Power of Connections to Transform Education. Solution Tree Press.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page