top of page

All Aboard #CVTechTalk

Confession time: I use to be a lurker and never really paid too much attention to chats on Twitter. I questioned having public conversation, which often times had a lot of small unnecessary talk and a lot of #’s and @ symbols making it difficult to extract meaning.

Life changed for me in December when I attended a Central Valley Computer Users in Education (CVCUE) meetup. CVCUE meetups are very informal get together, offering the opportunity to meet teachers, support staff, admins and anyone interested in Ed Tech that is a member of CUE. This particular meetup happened to be on the same night as the weekly scheduled #cvtechtalk chat.

The chat is normally hosted by Adam Juaruez @techcoachjuarez and Katherine Goyette @Kat_goyette. They have seven to eight questions for an hour session.

The questions are presented on a pre-designed question card format shown here. They usually begin with a warmup, get acquainted question and then present question about every ten to twelve minutes.

Questions are referenced with Q7: indicating which question you are on.

When answering a question you reference with A7: and include the # of the chat, #cvtechtalk.

My first experience at this December meetup was so informative and just broke the ice for me. I learned enough from just this one chat to fill my next month of PD training. I became addicted to Twitter chats and even better daily use of Twitter. I am no longer a lurker and participate regularly posting interesting articles/blogs and pictures of Ed Tech in action. Periscope is a tool used to do live broadcast and that took some practice. It has been useful at events and for doing live interview questions. Fun stuff!!

Using Twitter for professional development has rejuvenated my career. By following educational professionals from around the globe, I am guided to research, lesson plans, and ideas I would never have discovered on my own or with my local PLC.

So Tweet me up at @climb3mtns and watch for some #questions and #answers in a chat near you.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page